Question of the Week: What’s your favorite book of the Bible?

What’s your favorite book of the Bible?

Nia Campinha-Bacote, ’15: Yooo that’s so hard! It’s like asking me to pick my favorite Spongebob character, they’re all so different,  but I love them all! I guess if I would have to pick I would say Ephesians mainly because I just finished reading it, but also because it gives great practical advice on how to navigate the world as a Christian.

Elizabeth Jean-Marie, ’15: My favorite book of the Bible is Galatians, and specifically because of how Paul addresses that when we accept Christ we are “neither Jew nor Gentile, neither slave nor free, nor is there male and female, for [we] all one in Christ Jesus.” 3:28

Russyan Mabeza, ’15: Ecclesiastes. To me, it’s such a centering book, and it’s especially helpful here at Brown where we get caught in the flurry of it all. When we try so hard to do so many things, this book reminds us of the reason for our existence. Christ is the only way that our lives will have meaning.

Esmeralda Lopez, ’16: I love the book of James because it’s all about faith. It calls believers to test our faith and put it into action (faith and works, go together). The last chapter of James stresses that “the power of prayer is something to be reckoned with”. Finally, James ends with living faith in action when he calls believers to go after those who have turned away from God.

Nicholas Chuan, ’18: My favorite book of the Bible is 2 Corinthians. Paul’s passionate letter to the Corinthian church where he reveals his innermost thinking struck me hard and most of my memory verses are from that book.

Leave a Reply

