Question of the Week: “What is your favorite parable in the Gospel? How has it applied to your life?”

What is your favorite parable in the Gospel? How has it applied to your life?

Russyan Mark Mabeza ’15: Parable of the sower. In my years at Brown I’ve had multiple occurrences of someone coming to me about something I’ve said, written or created that has affected them in ways that I never would have foreseen. Goes to show that the seeds that we scatter all around really root themselves in some people and grow.

Nicholas Chuan ’18: Parable of the Lost Sheep. I’m always so touched by how much God loves us individually that He rejoices whenever any one of us is saved.

Olugbenga Joseph ’16: Parable of the talents. It’s a constant, and humbling, reminder that “to whom much is given, much is expected”.

Nia Campinha-Bacote ’15: The other day I was talking with a friend about the parable of the prodigal son.  I love that parable because it is so illustrative of my life.  So many times I have tried to do things my own way–forgetting about God and pouring all of my time and energy into my studies, trying to pursue a relationship that I had no business pursuing–but when all my efforts fall apart, when I bomb an exam or get totally rejected, God is right there.  He stands with His arms wide open, willing to love me unconditionally as I find my way back to Him.

Monica Perez ’15: Not a parable- but the story of the Samaritan woman. I am particularly struck by how she goes to draw water at a time where she can avoid the other women, because of her shame. Jesus’ response to her is so powerful- he doesn’t condemn her, but rather forces her to confront her sin directly and then calls her to completely repent. I think that when we truly encounter Jesus, we are confronted with the uncomfortable reality of our sin and realize that He does not shame us for it, but rather desires to set us free.

Leave a Reply

