Question of the Week!

What is one passage you’re meditating on as you navigate midterm papers/exams?

Nia, ’15 alumna: Hope it’s okay if an old alumni gets in the action…#sorrynotsorry. This verse has been giving me life during this new season of my life at Yale: “And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.” (Galatians 6:9)

Anna, ’16: “…let us draw near to God with a sincere heart and with the full assurance that faith brings…” (Hebrews 10:22)

Olugbenga, ’16: “Set your mind on things above, not on things that are on the earth”. Colossians 3:2 (ESV)

Justin, ’16: “For I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me; when you seek me with all your heart, I will be found by you, says the Lord, and I will restore your fortunes and gather you from all the nations and all the places where I have driven you, says the Lord, and I will bring you back to the place from which I sent you into exile.” (Jeremiah 29:11-14)

Gloria, ’17: “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord” (Colossians 3:23)

Nick, ’17: ““For who has understood the mind of the Lord so as to instruct him?” But we have the mind of Christ.” (1 Corinthians 2:16)

Jessie, ’17: The entire first chapter of Ezekiel, haha. It’s basically just describing God speaking to Ezekiel, but it never gets to the part where God actually speaks. It’s an entire chapter just describing His majesty. It’s really been reminding me that I can and will encounter God in my life, and that with Him there’s no element of uncertainty. He brings clarity, and His presence is unmistakable.

Ugochi, ’18: “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life? “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” (Matthew 6:25-34)

Josiah, ’18: “Heaven and earth will pass away, but My words will never pass away.” (Matthew 24:35)

Brandon, ’19: “Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence?” (Psalm 139:7)

Amelia: These two passages have really been getting me through the last two weeks: We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed. We always carry around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body. For we who are alive are always being given over to death for Jesus’ sake, so that his life may also be revealed in our mortal body. So then, death is at work in us, but life is at work in you.” (‭‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭4:8-12‬ ‭NIV)‬‬

& “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” (Jeremiah‬ ‭29:11-13‬ ‭NIV)

‬‬

Leave a Reply

