In Deo Speramus by Anna Delamerced ’16

brown_in-deowhen everything else around me
comes crashing down
You stand firm

when everyone else around me
fails to keep their promises
You always stand firm

no one who hopes in You
will ever be put to shame

this i proclaim

no one who hopes in You
will ever be put to shame

this i take in faith

when everything else around me
drags me down
You always pull me up

no one who hopes in You
will ever be put to shame

this i proclaim

no one who hopes in You
will ever be put to shame

this i take in faith

in nothing else
but in You
in You
in You
alone

You are my God
my One True Hope
the anchor of my soul

no one who hopes in You
will ever be put to shame

this i proclaim

no one who hopes in You
will ever be put to shame

this i take in faith

when everyone tells me not to
still i will sing

In Deo Speramus

In Deo Speramus

 

Author’s Note

The motto of Brown University is In Deo Speramus, which is Latin for “In God we hope.” For me, In Deo Speramus means that even if trials come my way, God will never abandon me. This poem is also inspired by Psalm 25:3, in which King David tells God, “No one who hopes in You will ever be put to shame.” Sometimes Christians may feel ashamed to declare that God is their Savior, but we are called not to be ashamed, because God is our hope. We can hope in God because we know that He stands firm.

Anna Delamerced is a senior concentrating in Public Health.

Leave a Reply

