New Vision by Anna Delamerced ’20

Loch Garry Berries by Gianna Uson '18 for New Vision.JPGgone is my

20/20 vision

degrading each year

with irregularities and aberrations

 

the doctor gave me  

a diagnosis of myopia

 

struggling to see

what really matters

all i can think about is

grades and school

work and deadlines

papers and resumes and

job applications

 

as i remove my glasses

rub my sore eyes

i think to myself

is this really all worth it?

 

straining under sharp light

yearning for clarity

 

this shortness of sight

hinders

makes it hard to perceive

the future

the present

 

i can’t see beyond the horizon

is there something greater out there

is there more to life than this one?

 

my vision needs

correction

 

i need to take a step back

breathe

relax

let You take control

i’m tired of chasing after

the things of this world

 

help me to pursue

the things eternal

the things unseen

 

i don’t know your plans

i don’t know your ways

but spit into the mud

rub it into my eyes

do whatever it takes

to open them

 

help me realize

there’s only one way to live

 

with You at the center

with You as my vision
Anna Delamerced ‘20 is a student in Alpert Medical School.

Leave a Reply

